2008 Nominees Announced, Voting Opens

In an early-morning press conference at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in downtown Los Angeles, Del Close Awards committee head Irene White was joined by actors Loretta Swit and John Cryer to announce the nominees for the 2008 iOWest Del Close Awards.

Named for Del Close, improv pioneer and co-founder of the iO Chicago theater, the Annual iOWest Del Close Awards are given out for achievements – both valid and dubious – in the field of comedic improvization at an irreverent ceremony at the iOWest theater.

This year’s ballot features a mix of familiar faces and new blood. 2007 Best Harold Team winners Trophy Wife are joined by seniors King Ten, alongside freshman teams Local 132 and Foster Kids. 2007 Sexiest Player winner Nick Armstrong returns to face competition from newcomer Tilt Tyree, who is also nominated for Hardest Working Intern.

This year, Opening Night cast member Derek Miller received the most individual nominations with nods in three categories – Coach of the Year, Teacher of the Year, and Sexiest Player; while perennial favorite Craig Cackowski received two individual nods – Coach of the Year and Teacher of the Year – in addition to a pair of show nominations for Dasariski and My First Time with Cacky.

iOWest students and alumni can cast their ballots online at delcloseawards.com starting today through August 15th. Winners will be announced at a live ceremony August 22nd at 9pm at the iOWest theater in Los Angeles. Drinks and dancing to follow.