2010 iOWest Del Close Awards Nominees Announced. Voting Commences.

Voting now open

Click here to submit your ballot

The world’s news media gathered at Los Angeles’ iconic Motel 6 in Canoga Park for the most eagerly anticipated pre-dawn press conference of the day today as the lovely Sean Cowhig and even lovelier Maggy Keegan announced the nominees for the 2010 iOWest Del Close Awards.

Named in honor of Del Close, improv pioneer and co-founder of the iO Chicago theater, this is the night when the iOWest community recognizes its own for contributions both valid and vapid to the art form known as improvisational theatre.

This year’s honorees for comedic excellence represent a stellar mix of veteran crowd-pleasers and exciting newcomers. U.S.S. Rock & Roll leads the pack with 3 nominations including Best Harold Team, for which they will vie against perennial nominees Trophy Wife, King Ten, and newcomers Bandit. In the new category of Student of the Year, the iOWest teaching staff selected an all-female slate of future superstars: Mary Bogh, Sarah McLean, Tiffani Mills, Laurie Roggenkamp and Shelby Swartz.

This year also marks the official renaming of the Sexiest Player, Teacher of the Year and Bartending awards after retired three-peaters Nick Armstrong, Craig Cackowski and Jon Crowley.

iOWest students and alumni can cast their ballots online at vote starting today through August 15th. Winners will be announced at the live ceremony August 20th at 9pm at the iOWest theater in Los Angeles. Bring your dancing shoes and bionic livers.