The 9th Annual Del Close Awards will take place at iO West on Tuesday, September 1st at 8pm. Superficial award ceremonies have no sympathy for your weekday work schedules.

Starting today you can go here to nominate your favorite improv and sketch shows, teachers, and coaches, and once again the iO West instructors will select candidates for Student of the Year. Finalists will be announced next week.

We’ve updated the category list this year. Firstly, we added a new category for sketch teams, to celebrate iO West’s exploding sketch community on Sunday nights. We also added a category called “Breakthrough Performer,” to acknowledge an emerging performer on a Harold or sketch team who has been kicking ass this year (this will be voted on by fellow house team performers in a closed ballot). Finally, we’re thrilled to announce the return of the hotly contested “Sexiest Player” category. We encourage you to have fun with that one… like all the Del Close Awards, we shouldn’t take these too seriously.

The night of the ceremony will be one of laughs, drinks, upsets, a DJ Conroy hosted after-party, and that normally goofy-looking person cleaning up shockingly well. So click here to submit your nominees, and mark your calendars for an unforgettable Tuesday night on September 1st!