Like Any Of This Matters : The 2009 iOWest Del Close Awards

“I’ve been improvising for about 10 years with iO and my Mom still thinks I go to The Improv three times a week to do stand-up,” quipped 2008 iOWest Del Close Awards host Josh Dubose. Dubose’s jape was just one of many self-referential jokes that rocked the standing-room only audience at the 2008 iOWest Del Close Awards.

Named for Del Close, improv pioneer and co-founder of the iO Chicago theater, the Annual iOWest Del Close Awards are given out for achievements – both valid and dubious – in the field of comedic improvization at an irreverent ceremony at the iOWest theater in Hollywood, CA.

This year, the Dels return with all the humor, pageantry, and self-congratulation that made last year’s ceremony such a hit. With its 2009 dates set, the Annual iOWest Del Close Awards will once again reward the best in comedic improvisation – like any of this matters.

Nominations for the 2009 iOWest Del Close Awards will open July 1st. iOWest students, alumni, and audience members can visit to submit their nominations for returning categories such as “Best Harold Team,” and “Best Teacher,” along with new category “Best ADT Team,” and the always popular “Sexiest Player.”

Nominees will be announced and voting will begin on August 1st. Winners will be announced live at the 2009 iOWest Del Close Awards ceremony on Friday, August 21st at 9pm at the iOWest.

Students and alumni interested in volunteering at this year’s ceremony should contact The Del Close Awards Committee.